Guyer Holds Its Own on All-District All-Star Teams

Guyer Holds Its Own on All-District All-Star Teams

by Steve Gamel

The high school volleyball season ended last month, and postseason honors continue to roll in. Guyer, in particular, was well-represented when the District 6-6A All-District team was released.

The Lady Wildcats had six athletes make this year’s list, including two superlative honors as freshman Jordyn Williams was named newcomer of the year and junior Rachel Tullos earned blocker of the year. Kate Cowan, an LSU signee, and Brooke Slusser made first team while Angel Felan (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi) and Shea Slusser were selected to the second team.

In other postseason honors, the Texas Girls Coaches Association recognized the top juniors in the state with its annual All-Star team selections. Tullos, an Arkansas State commit, was named to the 5A-6A All-Star Red team.

Tullos, who was instrumental in lifting Guyer back to the postseason after a one-year absence, was Guyer’s lone representative on the team and one of only two Denton-County athletes to make the team in any classification. The other was Argyle’s Alyssa Wallace in Class 4A.

It was certainly an impressive season for Guyer, which won 31 matches this year under new coach Heather Van Noy and backed eventual state champion Hebron into a corner several times before losing that first-round playoff match 25-19, 25-27, 25-22, 25-19. The Lady Wildcats trailed by only one point late in the fourth while trying to force a decisive fifth set, but the Lady Hawks scored eight of the next 11 points to seal the win.

Guyer finished with 15 blocks and 72 digs. Freshman Jordyn Williams and Arkansas State commit Rachel Tullos finished with 12 kills apiece. Tullos added nine blocks. 

The resurgent season came after Guyer finished the previous season with just three district wins.

Overall, the Lady Wildcats were led by four Division I athletes in Cowan (LSU), Tullos (Arkansas State), Felan (A&M-Commerce), and Mallory Pittman (Texas State).

District 6-6A
All-District Team List

Jill Pressly: Plano West
Julia Adams: Plano

Offensive Player of the Year
Iman Ndiaye: Plano West

Defensive Player of the Year
Haley Hoang: Plano West

Blocker of the Year
Rachel Tullos:  Guyer

Setter of the Year
Alina Lam: Allen

Newcomer of the Year
Jordyn Williams:  Guyer

Coach of the Year
Brittany Bridge: Plano West

First Team:
Ashley Le: Plano West
Jill Pressly: Plano West
Iman Ndiaye: Plano West
Haley Hoang: Plano West
Sydney Yap: Plano West
Lauren Blomquist: Plano West
Callie Parlin: Plano
Julia Adams: Plano
Faith Panhans: Plano
Sarah Sheffield: Wylie
Aysia Harty: McKinney Boyd
Callie Kemohah: Allen
Alina Lam: Allen
Avery Haydu: Allen
Kirby Smith: Plano East
Kate Cowan:  Guyer
Rachel Tullos:  Guyer
ordyn Williams:  Guyer
Brooke Slusser:  Guyer
Macey Winburn: McKinney

Second Team:
Gerilyn Boyle: Plano West
Hunter Anderson: Plano West
Jessie Johnson: Plano
Caitlin Cooper: Plano
Annie Harris: McKinney
Amari Wilson: Allen
Morgan Christon: Allen
Madi Miller: Wylie
Allison Owen: Plano East
Angel Felan: Guyer
Shea Slusser: Guyer
Courtney Walters: McKinney Boyd
Andie Baldridge: McKinney Boyd

Related Articles

Duff’s Fine Jewelry: Expect Something Different

For over three generations Duffs Fine Jewelry has been creating the most beautiful gifts of love. Meet the family behind

Experience Yoga with a Purpose

by Susan Neuhalfen YouTube sensation Boho Beautiful will be visiting North Texas to raise money for TCAP on November 10.

Guyer High students sign on with colleges

Congratulations to the following Guyer High School students who signed with various colleges yesterday. Football PJ Broussard – East Texas

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*